July 4, 2008

  • Mount St Helens

    So, last Friday, we were faced with dilemna (or I guess I was).  I could go to the last half day of the conference, or we could leave Portland early in the day and stop by Mount St. Helens on the way home.

    Put that way, I don’t think there was much of a choice at all.

    One of the things I learned was that Mt. St Helens is not a national park.  It’s called a National Volcanic Monument.  I’m not sure what the difference is, but all the signs made the point of saying that it was a National Monument.

    Of course, you don’t have to be in the park before you get some pretty great views.

     



    At one point you could see both Mt. St Helens and Mt. Adams.

    And more views.



    There are a few visitors centers along the way, including a Forest Learning Center.  The final visitor center is the official observatory.  In order to use the observatory or any of the trails, you had to pony up $8 each.  Being the hikers that we are, this was an easy decision, too, and received very stylish wristbands.

    We then hiked along Eruption Trail.  As you can see, parts of it wasn’t quite ready for summer yet.

    Nevertheless, the views along Eruption Trail were just as impressive as what we’d seen before.



    There was also a memorial.

    After hiking for a couple miles – and getting a lovely sunburn in the process – we left the park to continue on our way home.  Still the retreating views were picture worthy.

Comments (2)

  • IM SO JEALOUS. i was out there last summar and saw…. FOG :)

  • Gorgeous.  One day I really need to get out that way.  And hey, re your other trip, keep in mind I can get discounts at Marriot hotels for friends and family   Email me if you ever want me to check on one for you.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *